//
you're reading...
L, Linkin Park

Linkin Park- Living Things

Living ThingsLinkin Park is back with their fifth studio album titled Living Things. After my review of  A Thousand Suns , I was surprised they released a new album so quickly. The band stated that they would combine all the things from the four previous records and blend those things into a new sound. According to them, they were done with writing experimental stuff. This particular statement made me curious if they could keep their promise or if it just was a way to keep the fan base hyped up towards the release? 

The record kicks off with the electronic and hard-hitting song Lost In The Echo. It’s starts with a great electronic intro before Mike Shinoda starts rapping throughout the verses of the song. The choruses have a more rock feel with Chester singing this parts. To spice this song up it breaks down just before the end and  showcase that Chester still capable of screaming after all these years.

Next up is In My Remains. Like Lost In Echo it also starts with an electronic intro. But unlike the first song, it’s a softer one. It has a soft rock ballad feel and incorporates some great piano tunes. In combination with some group vocals at the end, it’s definitely one of the standout tracks on the new record.

Burning It Down is the leading single for Living Things. When you hear the first notes you can’t resist to move to the beat of the track. Its catchy and simple at the same time. What I like most about this one is the clever way they include a little bit of rap to make this one more special.

Lies Greed Misery is a short song but damn it, it’s a great one. At first I thought it was just an electronic song, but the sampling of Mike’s voice rapping, Chester’s screaming and the robot like sound gives the song a unique and great sound.

I’ll Be Gone is a more depressive song, but for me it’s one of the better tracks. I like it a lot because it’s a song with great guitar riffs and showcase that they still can write guitar packed songs after two records of experimenting with new sounds.

Next we have Castle Of Glass. When I heard the intro I thought I was listening to Given Up from Minutes to Midnight. It’s one of the happiest songs on the new record and it has a Celtic Folk feel. You are instantly hooked to the rhythm of the song and I can assure it will be stuck in your head for days.

Then Victimized comes in. All I can say about this song is that it’s one of the heaviest songs they have ever written. The verses are straightforward rapping from Mike but during the choruses of the song Chester screams a few powerful words saying

“Victimized, victimized never again victimized!”

Roads Untraveled is a softer track. It showcases their ability that they can write soft songs too, without being too cliché. Some people may not like this one, but I was instantly hooked.

Skin To Bone is the odd one out on this record. I cannot define the genre with this one and it’s not my cup of tea.

Next up we have Until It Breaks. This is definitely the most experimental song on the new album. It’s a combination of R&B, electronics and pure singing. It’s a grower, but once you like it, you will be pleased with the sound.

To end, we have Tinfoil, which is an interesting interlude for the last track, Powerless. Like Roads Untraveled it’s a softer song. You can describe the song as a piano ballad, in combination with a soft rock feel during the second half of the song. Towards the end it has a breathtaking finale, before it slowly fades out and puts an end to this new CD.

After listening to the record, I can assure that they’ve kept their promise to the fans. This is a combination of different styles from their previous efforts. I personally think it’s their most complete record to date. It’s great to see, despite the criticism they went through, that they still can make a fantastic record. While the last one was a bit of a letdown, this one keeps me excited to hear more from them in the future.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Linkin Park- Living Things

  1. I can’t say I am a big fan of music reviews – music means so many different things to different people I never really care about what one person thinks because it’s likely to be different from other people. HOWEVER I actually read this all the way through and liked it – I think you have summed it up nicely!

    Posted by Perky | July 11, 2012, 9:15 am

Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 8,500 hits

Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

