//
you're reading...
K, Katy Perry

Katy Perry – Teenage Dream

teenage dreamKate Hudson or better known as Katy Perry has just released her sophomore album.  The twenty-five year old singer released her first album (as Katy Perry, because in 2001 she released a Cristian Rock album under her birth name ) “One Of The Boys” in 2008.  The leading single is one we all know, “ I kissed A Girl (And I Liked It)“, it was probably one of the most talked about songs of that year, and peaked in many countries as #1. After that, the singles “Hot N Cold”, “Thinkin’ Of You” and “Waking Up In Vegas”. But let’s also not forget her very first online single, “Ur So Gay”.

Eventhough she gained a lot of fans with her debut album,  a lot of people were skeptical. I even recall cricits calling her a one-hit-wonder. But nothing was more wrong. With her second album just out,  and the leading single “California Gurls”, I felt like it was my duty (and pleasure)  to present you the new material.

The first track is the second single, “Teenage Dream”, a single that is just released but is getting good reception, already. And I gotta say, I get why. The song, co-written by Perry herself was produced by Max Martin and Dr. Luke, who were both responsible for “I Kissed A Girl”. The song is a romantic song, with a sexy approach for the video.  I mean, I’m not gonna lie, the guy she’s dating in the video, he’s hot.  Anyway, it’s a dreamy song and I’m sure that any girl imagines her own teenage dream when she listens to it. That’s probably their intension.

“Last Friday Night (T.G.I.F.)” comes right after the teenage dream,  and its a typical I-wish-I-still-knew-what-I-did-last-night song. But she doesn’t have regrets, since she’s singing “this Friday night, we’ll do it all again”. My sources have told me Kesha & Katy used to be good friends, did she go out with her?

Speaking of, have you ever noticed a curly blond girl in the “I Kissed A Girl” Video? That’s Ke$ha, when she wasn’t famous yet. Just letting you know.

“Greetings loved ones, let’s take a journey.”  is probably one of Snoop’s most famous quotes, by now, if you ask me, and it’s the intro of “California Gurls”.  With the song and leading single, she has proved that she’s the opposite of a one-hit-wonder and she does it her own Katy style. In the video, she’s in candy land, saving all kinds of candy, who turn out to be girls. She’s in a pink cloud and she has a mini-war against the mean gummy bears who flip her the finger. What can I say, it’s funny. And the song is extremely simple, but so catchy. Just the way the teenage girls like it while dreaming of becoming one of those Californian girls.

“Firework” is a tad different from the typical Katy Perry song. It’s very poppy, but at the same time it’s like she’s trying to be inspirational. But it probably makes sense, since she’s speaking to all the teenage fans out there whom are struggling with just being the teenager that they are. And boy is it hard to be a teenager. Also, after about a minute, the beat kicks in. Which is odd, because in the beginning you expect this big ballad. Heck, it even has violins.  Questionable lyrics? “Boom, boom, boom, even brighter than the moon, moon, moon.” I mean, come on – we know it rhymes but, really?

“Peacock” is the most emptiest song ever. I know it’s about revealing the real identity, to me it sounds like pure empty teenage pop.  But it kind of works. I’m not sure why, but I think  it has to do with the fact that she sings “cock, cock, cock” multiple times. It gets annoying after a while.

I have heard good things of the next song, “Circle The Drain”, that starts out to be more of a rock song at first. Actually, it’s rock all over the song. It’s bitter and hard. Something we’re not used from Katy, certainly not with this album, that got introduced by a pink candy land video.  But more power to you, Katy. I wouldn’t stick around with a guy who falls asleep during foreplay either. Yes, that’s in the lyrics.

“The One That Got Away”, is such a happy song. Thank god, I wasn’t about to sign in for more Circle The Drain kind of songs. I loved it, that’s not the point here.  I guess the song turned out exactly how it should have turn out; happy nostalgic.  The high piano melody screams it. Not single material, though.

The next song, called “E.T.” is so surprisingly different, and I have to say it doesn’t fit her, at all. At first. But then I get to the second impression, the chorus. The song is pretty damn catchy. It’s still weird, and I had to giggle at “you’re an alien”.  I should have known we’d get weird lyrics with a title after that alien that wanted to phone home. Why, Katy? But I gotta say, these days popstars use electronic sounds to make an impression. It workes, for now.

The weird futuristic sound continues with “Who Am I Living For?” and yet, I think it’s an attempt to be a ballad. Like I said, it’s working, for now. The truth is that Katy can sing, and she’s proving it here. It’s a I’m-crying-here-alone kind of song. With rain, please.

The next song “Pearl”, it has such a pretty tittle, how can it not be good? To be bold, it’s probably her ballad version of “Dance In the Dark”.  It’s a beautiful ballad, but boring as hell. Upon ’till about three minutes. That’s when she speaks up and tells the world she’s the pearl she’s singing about.

After the beautiful title, there comes a title that scares the —- out of me. “Hummingbird Heartbeat”? Oh, really. But the crazy sigh kind of title is deceiving because it’s actually quite a good song.  What I do experience though, is that the last couple of songs, including this one, has giving me such a sad feeling.

We’ve come to the last song, “Not Like The Movies”, which starts with a sad piano riff and I guess the sadness never really ends. This time, I don’t feel like it’s trying too hard. It’s an actual, true and raw sad song.

Speaking about trying too hard, I truly think Katy tried her best, and tried too hard. Personally – It’s a good album, but some songs are just overproduced. I’m used to Katy for singing songs like “Ur So Gay”, that has a lot of silly rhyming, but we all know we know someone like that. Or the Katy that sings  songs like “Thinking Of You”, that is so raw and beautiful.  I miss the raw. But maybe it’s all part of the deal. I mean – the blue hair doesn’t seem natural and raw to me.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 9,969 hits

Archives

