//
you're reading...
S, The Script

The Script – Science And Faith

The Script

When I think of scripts, I usually think of Hollywood movies. But this time, I’m thinking about an Irish band. No, U2 is no making a movie, or at least not one I’m aware of. I’m talking about The Script, the band. They’ve just released their sophomore album, “Science & Faith”. If you have no idea who they are, their biggest hit “We Cry” might give you a clue.  But the new single “For The First Time” is also a big radio hit by now.

The album starts with something every good album should start, an uptempo track called “You Won’t Feel A Thing”. The great thing about the song is that they already take all that they’ve got out of the closet and rock out. Every album should start that way, to my opinion. I always imagine myself, and other people, listening in the cd store before buying it and you listen to the first track. First tracks are like first impressions, they gotta be good. Otherwise you screwed it up.  They always say people judge by it’s cover, but in music they do it by track 01.

The first single, and second track is called “For The First Time”, we all  know – or we don’t? – that The Script may have emotional lyrics. That is also the case now.  Guess you hate it or love it, but let’s face it, no one would listen to their kind of music if they’d have lyrics of a band like Ramstein. Still – I have always found it kind of cheesy when a song starts describing a girl crying. Nevertheless, it’s a nice song. 

  “Nothing” starts off with this beautiful guitar into. It intrigues, and the funny thing is that I can already see One Three Hill using this song. They might use the whole album, for all I care, but this song in particular is so strong and emotional.  Just the way all the Brooke Davis fans like it.

“Science & Faith”, the song, expresses exactly the heart & head theory on a different kind of way. Feelings and mind etc.. The song itself isnt’ that bad but it’s just, sorry to say already, just another song that sounds the same like the other ones.

Luckily, “If You Ever Come Back” sounds a bit different, a little more happy. This is one of the earwurms. The verses are long enough, the chorus is repetitious but not too repetitious and the ending is cute the way it fades out. Yep, earwurm material. 

Apparently, the girl never really came back and he “Moved On And Long Gone”. The first thing I notice? The singer’s voice,  Danny O’Donoghue,  is a lot more hoarsely. His voice is usually very clear, but this time it’s not. I don’t know if that was his aim or not, but I do kind of like it.

“Dead Man Walking” is not only a movie with Sean Penn, it is also a The Script song. It is definitely more in he lines of “We Cry”.  At least, the beginning sounds more like it, the rest is all sophomore album . Is that a bad thing? That’s for you to decide.

The title of the next track, “This Love” always reminds me of the Maroon 5 song. But it’s nothing like that. The intro is actually very raw with drums and piano. But the song kind of makes me sad, certainly because of the piano. It shouldn’t be saddening, right?  Will it be a single? I’m guessing Yes.

“Walk Away” is  lot more hard than the other songs, I’m pretty impressed. It’s so much more dramatic and rockish.  It’s a thing of taste.

The last song “Exit Wounds” sounds promising, and is. The beauty of this song is that the lyrics and the music are perfectly matching, certainly in the verses. The lyrics on their own, though, they’re not sexy at all. I can hear myself saying “my god, you complain too much” if he’d tell me how he feels, instead of singing it.

What can I say? It’s not a bad album, there are quite a few songs in it that are great, but the tracks do all sound the same. It’s the typical pop/rock kind of band that makes only women scream and cry. Some maybe at the same time. But the tracks are crystal clear, the music is very well done and produced. As you may know, I hate overproduced albums, but the band kept their purity. And I love the singer’s pure voice. No doubt he’s got a great voice.

PS: Request reviews are the best.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “The Script – Science And Faith

  1. Hiya,
    loved the review! I have to say,I do prefer there first album. Not that this one isn’t good ,I like some songs, I just miss something that was there in the first one… you know… ^-^ … what’s the next album your going to review?

    hugs and kisses

    Posted by Misa | September 21, 2010, 5:28 pm
    • Thank you 🙂 I’m glad you liked it. I have to say, the two albums are a world apart, yea. But in my opinion, that happens a lot with sophomore albums. They wanna to the success and try harder but sometimes fail a it?

      And I’m quite sure yet what I wanna do but I got a short list of artists, so you’ll see very soon 🙂

      Posted by musictastic | September 22, 2010, 4:31 pm
  2. so I listened to the new album from maroon 5… I just loved it!! maybe something to review?! ^-^

    Posted by Misa | September 30, 2010, 9:32 pm

Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 9,969 hits

Archives

