//
you're reading...
L, Lady Gaga

Lady Gaga – Born This Way

If you haven’t listened to this album yet, you’ve been living under a rock. Okay, I’m not being fair. But let’s face it, it’s hot. She’s selling millions with it, that’s for sure. Lady Gaga, who’s only twenty-five, is undeniable anymore. She has millions of little monsters all over the world, one more crazy than the other. And they’re all Born This Way, probably knowing all the lyrics within the week after buying it. And that was of course, on the first day the album came out.  But how good is it, really? Let’s decide for ourselves. 

We’ve got a lot to listen to, and I’ll start with the beginning, “Marry The Night”. It starts slow,which is deceiving, because when the chorus kicks in, it’s a pure electro/disco track. Gaga is known for her support towards the gay community, and in the stereotype, this is a song gays would go wild on. Heavy club beat, with striking vocals. Because I heard the leading single of the album, which is the same style, I’m thinking it’s going to be in the same line for the whole album.

Speaking of the leading single, “Born This Way”, that’s the second track.The song, as I recall the buzz, received a lot of criticism. It was supposed to be unoriginal, and a lot of fans said it sounded too much like Express Yourself by Madonna. I won’t deny that. I mean, I see the similarities. The sweeping melody and the encouraging lyrics. It’s the same. But, with Madonna, she was probably singing about women. In Gaga’s case, I mean, how can you not see she’s singing about gay men.

Don’t be a drag, just be a queen

So a friend of mine, is a little monster. He texted me a couple of titles of the album, on first day it came out (and bought it). Well, he texted a lot more about the album, but let’s just leave it with that. Either way – one of the titles was “Government Hooker”. I was surprised, but not shocked. It’s gaga. She lowered the shock level for all of us. Whatever artists do these days, whatever skin they show, it’s never too much anymore.

The song is very electronic, and at first very annoying for my taste, but it’s deceivingly addictive. It’s like, you don’t want to like it, but you do. I could quote every song, put it in bold, but I have to choose.

All though, I can’t help myself and quote this line.

Put your hands on me. John F. Kennedy.

Whatever that means, right?

So, we’ve come to “Judas”. Second single. I’m not going to lie, I really don’t like the track. Theres something about it, I dislike. It’s pure personal taste, I know. Because, even though it’s a grower, I know it’s a good song. It’s a song, only she can do because of the extreme differences in the track. Theres the fierce gaga, and the poppy soft gaga. Both you see in her performances as well. Singing love songs while playing piano with her high-heeled feet. Or at the Monster Ball, where she has the creepiest intro for Pokerface, but when she comes on stage, she’s got the biggest glitter dress on.The many contraries.

Gaga is bombastic and crazy, like “Americano”. Besides the fact that’s its a fun song, I really hope we won’t ever have to hear that on the radios. God only knows I’ve been hearing Judas way too much already. But this song, we all agree on – not single worthy.

“Hair” is in the same line as “Born This Way” and “Marry The Night”. A little over the top, but fun. But it’s more pop than most recent pop songs, which I really like. Only at the bridge, its kind of electronic, which continues after the bridge as well. But it doesn’t all have to  by “material girl” style.

I haven’t counted the languages yet, but I heard a rumor it had 19 different languages. “Sheibe” is supposed to be a german song.  “I don’t speak German, but I can if I like”, she sings. I don’t know either, but I know she sings “Madre Monster”. That’s hot, Paris would say. Or she said twenty thousand hollywood years ago. Anyway, the track isn’t my favourite. But o God, if I’ll have one tired morning and this will be on my playlist, I know it will be eardrum of the day. However you see it, she’ll always make catchy songs.

“Bloody Mary” is another reference to the Christian religion. Especially with the male choir in the background. I like it, though.  It’s got a different ring to it. It’s a bit slower than most of her songs, but that’s not always a bad thing.

“Black Jesus – Amen Fashion” raises my eyebrows. The title, I mean – what is that? I guess it’s an ode to fashion. And Jesus. But the song is rather a filler.

from Jesus to “Bad Kids”, it starts like a rock track, and she probably went for that feeling. Honestly, the song is just as a filler as the previous track, in my opinion. But the lyrics are, as always, provocative.

My parents tried until they got divorced.
‘Cause I ruined their lives.

Empowering is a key word in this album, and “Fashion Of His Love” is justifying  that therm. I’m not sure what to think of this track, it’s got a great and catchy chorus, but in the verses, it kinda falls down. Like it needs more, but I’m not sure what.

I secretly love “Highway Unicorn”. Not because of the song, or whatever. I just love unicorns. It’s true. But the song is not how I expect it to be. It’s got a heavy beat, not one a unicorn would listen to. I’m sorry.

“Heavy Metal Lover” isn’t what I expected either. It’s more electro-pop than most of her songs. But her vocals are really soft, and it’s almost pleasant because I’m not used to hearing her that way. I can safely say, this is a track I’ll like in the future but isn’t single worthy, it’s like an in-betweener. Whatever that may mean.

we’re almost done, yes we are. But first “Electric Chapel”. I’m not sure, here. It’s got a special feeling to it. Which makes it quite good, especially with the electric guitar, but let’s just say I don’t think I’ll be remembering this track when I open the disc in ten years. For some reason, it reminds me of a Moby song.

I’ve been wanting to listen to “The Queen” this whole time. What’s that gonna be, right? Well, I’m not going to complain. It’s my taste, really. Let the gay in you come out. It’s probably out already, though. It’s a really long track. But I guess The Queen deserves that.

I’ve seen her on Oprah, performing “Yoü And I”, and I was so relieved when I heard that track. I mean, you can imagine it already: I hate Judas, and Born This Way wasn’t on my playlist either so I was afraid. Not so much about the sales of the album (we all knew it was going to do well), but  rather more if I was going to buy it or not. I’m still not sure about it, but this track reminds me of her first album, songs like “Again, Again” and “Brown Eyes”, pretty songs where she sings her heart out. Simplicity in all the drama and shock.

Saving the best for last, I presume. I mean, “The Edge Of Glory” is not only one of my favourite tracks, but as I see it, it’s pretty good as well. Nuff said.

so, I’m done. I’m going to be honest here. The album has a lot of tracks, and if it were for me, I’d eliminate a couple and cut back to about twelve. I’ve always liked shorter albums anyway. The tracks that I do like are a fine mix of electro pop and empowering “let your freak flag fly” tracks like the leading single. She’s done a pretty damn good job. And she’s scoring, really big time. Which is something I was afraid of: fans “little monsters” buying an album because it’s Lady Gaga. I mean, she can make the worst track a single, and it will still sell. But at least, I know now, it’s worthy to be bought. Whatever she stands for, or however she dresses, the music is still good, and that’s all that matters.Good job, Mother Monster.


Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 9,969 hits

Archives

