//
you're reading...
L, Lana Del Rey

Lana Del Rey – Born To Die

She’s known to be the girl with the full lips singing the sad songs, but she’s really more than that. Lana Del Rey, or Elizabeth Woolridge Grant, has recently released her debut album, Born To Die. Everyone knows her by now because of her major success, “Video Games”, and I’m pretty sure she’s not about to go away. She’s influenced by many different kind of artists, such as Britney Spears, Kurt Cobain and even Elvis Presley. So they say, but we’ll just have to listen for ourselves, won’t we?

The title track, Born To Die, is the first track and second single. The intro reminded me of some kind of film music for Disney but then it quickly changed into something serious. Lana Del Rey isn’t exactly known for her happy pop music, because of her first single “Video Games” and it’s not going to change soon, I believe. It’s not sad either, according to the lyrics, but there’s a certain vibe and it’s really intriguing. We’re in for a ride, that I know.

What strikes me as interesting is her deep singing voice, which is in her case a contralto, as I recall it correctly. The funny thing is that she can sing really low but when she’s singing higher notes, it’s quite likeable as well, like in the chorus of Off To The Races. It kind of sounds like a child is singing it, but on the nice kind of way. The track has a good rhythm but to me, the verses are a bit too long. In this track, she deals with her father. The track ends with a nice violin.

A bass starts Blue Jeans, which is pretty much a love song, but on her special way. lyric wise of course.

Love you more, than those bitches before

What an honesty. But truthfully, that’s basically how we think about our guys. Admit it, all their ex-girfriends, they’re those bitches. Always.

Ah, Video Games has arrived. Without a blink of an eye, I can sing along. Let’s face it: it’s a good track, but as many good tracks, the radios are all over it.. Of course, they play bad songs way too much as well.

Diet Mountain Dew is a bit happier, I suppose. It has a somewhat soft hip-hop beat, but its a bit repetitive. She’s singing “You’re not good for me, but baby I want you”. Yeah, we all know that feeling. Chocolate. Mmm.

But Anyway, the next track is National Anthem, and it’s one of my favourites. I guess I like it because it’s so true. In reality, it’s all about money, isn’t it? It’s never a bad thing to have money. We live in a world where it’s just that important.

From money to love, Dark Paradise is about moving on after a heartbreak. Actually, it’s about not moving on, really. Its pretty catchy, but really sad. Then again, her voice makes everything so much easier to make it sad and deep. Everything she practically sings is deep. Especially because her writing isn’t just about the happy things in life. It’s never about rainbows and lollipops. So the combination of her vocals and the writing fits perfectly.

Luckily, the heartbreak doesn’t last long because in the next track, Radio, she sings:

Now my life is sweet like cinnamon. Like a fucking dream I’m living in

I love her dirty mouth. The track has really long and dark verses but the choruses en bridge is light and short. It feels like you’re walking on a cloud, while listening to this track. It’s really good. And I really like cinnamon. What can I say?

A sad violin intro starts Carmen. Which suits the vibe and the lyrics since it’s about a young girl who’s a prostitute. Heavy topics, I have to say. But I can’t say it strikes me, not in this track. It’s a bit too bland.

I have to say, I’ve always liked the sadness but after ten tracks, its getting kind of boring. Million Dollar Man might be a good track in another context, but most of the time, I need more swing to spice up things in an album. Summertime Sadness has a little more spice, thank God. But the title says it all, and I didn’t expect it to be happiness instead. The chorus gets really moving, sweeping.

The last song has arrived: This Is What Makes Us Girls has a typical pop beat, but her typical vocals as well. It’s not really heavyhearted, however it’s never lighthearted either. It’s a great end to a good album.

Lana Del Rey: so much expectations. The girl with the full lips, hipster clothes and the deep voice has achieved a lot already. And she’s not about to go anywhere if you ask me. The album is just like I predicted: Always a little sad, never really happy. She’s also somewhat sassy and knows her way with (bad) words. She’s pop, but she’s underground as well. And it may not be your style, heck, it’s not really mine either but her writing is already quite perfected and her vocals are appealing. It won’t be long before she’s a phenomenon, mark my words.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 9,914 hits

Archives

